Traineeships in Brussels and Luxemburg

For all past, present and future stagiaires doing their internship in the European institutions

HomeCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 

Question: Preselected but can't do a traineeship this year

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
AymericDb

PostSubject: Question: Preselected but can't do a traineeship this year   Sun Jun 12, 2011 6:33 pm

Hello everyone,

I've been preselected for the October 2011 traineeship, but I've just been offered funding to continue my research for another year (I'm currently studying for a master's degree), so I wouldn't be able to do a traineeship until October 2012.

I really want to do a traineeship, so I'm trying to figure out what to do now so that I have the best chance of getting one next year. Should I:

1) Just withdraw my application now without an explanation
2) Write to the pre-selection committee, explain to them the situation and say that I'm withdrawing but I will apply again next year
3) Write to my preferred units, explain to them the situation and say that I'm withdrawing but I will apply again next year
4) Lobby my preferred units, wait to see if they offer me a traineeship and if they do, thank them, explain that I can't accept anymore and ask if they will take me next year instead

If anyone has any advice I would really appreciate it! Thank you!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
krista

PostSubject: Re: Question: Preselected but can't do a traineeship this year   Mon Jun 13, 2011 1:57 pm

That I know of, they won't save you a spot for next year or any such thing. You will have to re-apply again for the October 2012 traineeship, and hope for the best.